ISB Libguides: IB Extended Essay: Topic Selection

Steps to Find a Research Topic

Videos

Useful Academic Databases

As you begin the process of selecting a topic, a researcher should...

Read, view, skim, scan widely to find a topic of interest
View the course syllabus
Connect to personal interests
Make mind maps
Talk to friends and family
Talk to your teachers
Confirm there are secondary sources with enough research about the topic
Read academic journals – how is the topic treated by other scholars?

The academic databases listed below are good places to browse when trying to identify possible topics of interest.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles that review key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts. Available subjects: Psychology; Philosophy; Literature; Economics & Finance; History; Linguistics and Physical Sciences Make sure to select one of these fields first before performing a search. Off-campus access: open link after turning on the Cisco app.
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
The perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Discover a new topic or subject with these intelligent and serious introductions written by authors who are experts in their field. Off-campus access: open link after turning on the Cisco app.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to nearly 5,000 titles that offer global coverage on a wide range of subjects: arts, business, current events, education, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences, and more. It features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This link provides access to four ProQuest databases: Publicly Available Content Database‎, Research Library Prep‎, SIRS Issues Researcher‎, and the Coronavirus Research Database‎.
ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians.

Other Useful Websites

Topic Finding Resources and Websites