MS Grade 6 Science LibGuide

Learning about heavy physics concepts can sure weigh down your brain! You need to understand huge forces (like gravity, magnetism, and inertia), huge speeds (light moves at 670,615,200 miles per hour), and even huger mysteries (what space-time is). How can all these big numbers and concepts make more sense? Infographics! The charts, maps, and illustrations in this book tell a visual story to help you better understand key concepts about forces and motion. Crack open this book to explore mind-boggling questions such as: * How do spaceships break away from Earth's gravity? * Why don't submarines and ships sink in water? * What keeps riders from falling out of roller coasters (besides their safety belts!)? The answers are sure to stick with you!

'Forms of Energy' explores the different types of energy that are around us all the time. You will discover how energy can be moving or stored. You will learn what causes sound, heat, and light energy. You will also find out how different sources of energy can be turned into electricity to power our machines and gadgets. So come on a fantastic journey into the world of forms of energy! Sci-Hi is an engaging, comprehensive, and visually stimulating series that takes learning science core curriculum to a whole new level.

Without physics, modern life would not exist. Instead of electric light, we would read by the light of candles. We couldn't build skyscrapers. We could not possibly bridge rivers, much less build a jet or interplanetary craft. Computers and smartphones would be unimaginable. Physics is concerned with the most fundamental aspects of matter and energy and how they interact to make the physical universe work. In accessible language and with explanatory graphics and visual aids, this book introduces readers to the science that is at the very center of all other sciences and essential to our very existence.

This volume in the Major Inventions through History series follows the history of energy from the earliest times when mankind began to harness and use fire through the advent of steam power, electricity, and oil, to the use of nuclear power and beyond.

The supercharged facts about energy and waves can set your brain buzzing! You learn about huge rates of consumption (like the 35.3 quadrillion BTUs of petroleum used in the United States in 2011), huge timelines (it took 300 million years for our greatest source of energy, fossil fuels, to be created), and even huger mysteries (how long it will be before fossil fuels run out). How can all these big numbers and concepts make more sense? Infographics! The charts, maps, and illustrations in this book tell a visual story to help you better understand key concepts about energy and waves. Crack open this book to explore mind-boggling questions such as: * What is "the grid" and how does it work? * How does sound travel? * How can dancing create energy? The answers are sure to be shocking!

This Is Not Your Average Art Book.  Brought to you by the Exploratorium's Tinkering Studio, The Art of Tinkering is an unprecedented celebration of what it means to tinker: to take things apart, explore tools and materials, and build wondrous, wild art that's part science and part technology. Join 150+ makers as they share the stories behind their beautiful and bold work and use this book to do some tinkering yourself. We do mean "use this book" in a literal sense... you won't even be able to reach the first page before using it. The Art of Tinkering is a collection of exhibits, artwork, and projects that celebrate a whole new way to learn, in which people create their own knowledge through making and doing, working with readily available materials, getting their hands dirty, collaborating with others, problem-solving in the most fun sense of the word, and, yes, oftentimes failing and bouncing back from getting stuck. Each artist featured in The Art of Tinkering goes through this process, and lovingly shares the backstory behind their own work so that readers can feel invited to join in on the whimsy. Whether it's sharing their favorite tools (who knew toenail clippers could be so handy?) or offering a glimpse of their workspaces (you'd be amazed how many electronics tools you can pack into one pantry!), the stories, lessons, and tips in The Art of Tinkering offer a fascinating portrait of today's maker scene. Artists include: Learn from greats like Scott Weaver, Arthur Ganson, Moxie, Tim Hunkin, AnnMarie Thomas, Ranjit Bhatnajar and Jie Qi.

From world-renowned autism spokesperson, scientist, and inventor Temple Grandin -- a book of personal stories, inventions, and facts that will blow young inventors' minds and make them soar. Have you ever wondered what makes a kite fly or a boat float? Have you ever thought about why snowflakes are symmetrical, or why golf balls have dimples? Have you ever tried to make a kaleidoscope or build a pair of stilts? In Calling All Minds, Temple Grandin explores the ideas behind all of those questions and more. She delves into the science behind inventions, the steps various people took to create and improve upon ideas as they evolved, and the ways in which young inventors can continue to think about and understand what it means to tinker, to fiddle, and to innovate. And laced throughout it all, Temple gives us glimpses into her own childhood tinkering, building, and inventing. More than a blueprint for how to build things, in Calling All Minds Temple Grandin creates a blueprint for different ways to look at the world. And more than a call to action, she gives a call to imagination, and shows readers that there is truly no single way to approach any given problem--but that an open and inquisitive mind is always key. Praise for Calling All Minds: "An impassioned call to look at the world in unique ways with plenty of practical advice on how to cultivate a curious, inquiring, imaginative mind." --Kirkus Reviews "Both practical and inspirational, this useful book describes an overall approach to viewing the world creatively, as exemplified by the numerous projects and supporting material provided here." --VOYA "Grandin offers a nuanced perspective on the qualities of a successful inventor--notably, a sense of wonder and curiosity, careful observation, and the willingness to learn from mistakes." --Publishers Weekly

Explore science as you've never known it before with this children's encyclopedia perfect for budding scientists! Forming part of a fantastic series of kid's educational books, this bold and brilliant kid's encyclopedia uses ground-breaking CGI imagery to reveal the world as you've never seen it before. Informative, diverse in subject matter, easy-to-read and brimming with beautiful graphics, young learners can explore the incredibly detailed cross-sections and cutaways that reveal the scientific inner workings of just about everything! This charming children's encyclopedia opens the world in new ways, with:  - Packed with facts, charts, timelines, and infographics that cover a vast range of topics.  - Encompassing a visual approach with illustrations, photographs and extremely detailed 3D images. - Crystal clear text distills the key information. - DK's encyclopedias are fact-checked by subject experts to offer accuracy beyond online sources of information. This fully-updated edition of Knowledge Encyclopedia Science! is the perfect encyclopedia for children aged 9-12, ideal for inquisitive minds, providing young readers with an engaging introduction to core science topics, demonstrating how all the major scientific principles fit together and using awe-inspiring illustrations to reveal how biology, chemistry and physics is used every day in the world around us. Jam-packed with spectacular scientific facts, including graphics, facts, and data boxes, this science encyclopedia is sure to delight budding young scientists.  Explore, Discover And Learn! DK's Knowledge Encyclopedia Science! uncovers the marvels of our world in unprecedented detail and with stunning realism. Encompassing incredible computer-generated images to reveal and explain science as never before, you can spend quality time exploring the world of science with your children, whether it's looking inside a cell, pulling apart a Formula 1 racing car, or examining the forces that hold the Universe together, accompanied by impressive visuals to engage their senses. A must-have volume for curious kids with a thirst for knowledge, this enthralling encyclopedia is structured in such a way that your child can read a bit at a time, and feel comfortable to pause and ask questions. Doubling up as the perfect gift for young readers, who are always asking questions about the inner workings of our planet!  At DK, we believe in the power of discovery. This thrilling kid's encyclopedia is part of the Knowledge Encyclopedia educational series. Celebrate your child's curiosity as they complete the collection and discover diverse facts about the world around them. Dive into the deep blue with Knowledge Encyclopedia Ocean! Travel back in time to when dinosaurs roamed the earth with Knowledge Encyclopedia Dinosaur! And hone your knowledge on how the human body works with Knowledge Encyclopedia Human Body! Whatever topic takes their fancy, there's an encyclopedia for everyone!

You'll be firing on all cylinders with this science spectacular! The exciting exploration of biology, chemistry, and physics is vital reading for curious minds. Science becomes simple and straightforward, so you never get your wires crossed again. Hundreds of pages feature stunning images, simple graphics, and crystal-clear text. What makes a firework go bang? How do plants make food from sunlight? What makes a robot clever? Find the answers to all these questions and much, much more. Biology is all about you, living things, and the rest of the natural world. Learn all about your amazing body and more than 1,000 parts that keep it going. Chemistry presents an explosive look at the tiny atoms that build together to create all the brilliant things in the world today. Physics introduces the full force of everything, from electricity and energy to magnetism and machines. All three subjects are examined in extraordinary detail, making Science: A Visual Encyclopedia an absolutely essential addition to each and every family library.

Learn about our world, the universe, and groundbreaking discoveries in The Science Book. Part of the fascinating Big Ideas series, this book tackles tricky topics and themes in a simple and easy to follow format. Learn about Science in this overview guide to the subject, great for beginners looking to learn and experts wishing to refresh their knowledge alike! The Science Book brings a fresh and vibrant take on the topic through eye-catching graphics and diagrams to immerse yourself in.  This captivating book will broaden your understanding of Science, with:  - More than 100 ground-breaking ideas in this field of science - Packed with facts, charts, timelines and graphs to help explain core concepts - A visual approach to big subjects with striking illustrations and graphics throughout - Easy to follow text makes topics accessible for people at any level of understanding The Science Book is the perfect introduction to every area of this topic - astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, maths, and physics, aimed at adults with an interest in the subject and students wanting to gain more of an overview. Here you'll discover 80 trail-blazing scientific ideas, which underpin our modern world, giving us everything from antibiotics to gene therapy, electricity to space rockets, and batteries to smart phones. Your Science Questions, Simply Explained What is string theory or black holes? And who discovered gravity and radiation? If you thought it was difficult to learn structure and behavior of the physical and natural world, The Science Book presents key information in a clear layout. Learn about the history of science, covering topics like why Copernicus's ideas were controversial, how Einstein developed his theories of general and special relativity, and how Crick and Watson suggested a structure for DNA - with superb mind maps and step-by-step summaries. The Big Ideas Series With millions of copies sold worldwide, The Science Book is part of the award-winning Big Ideas series from DK. The series uses striking graphics along with engaging writing, making big topics easy to understand.

Stuff You Need to Know virtually overflows with illustrations and information about 28 activities and objects from everyday life. In fact, the book is so jam-packed that eight gatefolds provide the extra room needed to explain complex activities. Each item is on a double-page spread filled edge to edge with informative text in numbered sequence. Accurate, lighthearted illustrations reveal everything a step at a time. The "stuff" ranges from taking out the garbage to launching a rocket. Here are some examples: Electricity -- Steam power, turbine, magnet, generator, current, transformer, mains, fuse, meter Making a Pizza (gatefold): How does a pizzeria deliver a pizza so quickly? Ingredients for the pizza base and topping, what they are, and where they come from. Microwave Oven -- Molecules, waves, cross-section of a microwave oven, protective layer, timer 3D Printer -- 3D model, CAD, programming in sections, nozzles, layers, spool, nozzle, acetone Setting Up a Satellite (gatefold) -- SatNet, geostationary, ACTS, transponder, thrusters, parabolic antennae Solar Panels -- Thermal energy, photo voltaic panels, pump, solar energy, solar power stations Toilet Tank -- Float, siphon tank, siphon ball, bowl, flow, suction, piston, valve, water supply pipe Weather Report -- Weather balloons, weather centers, satellites, GTS, supercomputer, chart, forecast. Stuff You Need to Know! has the fascinating stories behind the everyday activities that we all take for granted. Readers of all ages will be surprised where the answers take them.

Learn more about what climate changes means and how it's affecting our planet in this climate book for kids! Climate change is a critical and timely topic of deep concern, here told in an age-appropriate manner, with clarity and hope. This activist book for kids shows children that they too can make a difference! When the weather changes daily, how do we really know that Earth's climate is changing? This climate change book for kids shows the science behind the headlines--evidence from flowers, butterflies, birds, frogs, trees, glaciers and much more, gathered by scientists from all over the world, sometimes with assistance from young "citizen-scientists." And here is what young people, and their families and teachers, can do to learn about climate change and take action!

2019 Silver Birch Non-fiction Honour Book "This is an important book but we don't have time for its young readers to replace those in power. So read this book and then give grown-ups hell and demand something be done. It's your future that's at stake." -- David Suzuki The Earth's oceans are on the rise. Since 1900, global sea levels have risen steadily each year to a global average of about 8 inches (20cm) today, and they're still rising. By 2100, the sea could climb as much as 14 feet (4.3m) to 32 feet (9.75m). Rising Seas: Flooding, Climate Change and Our New World gives youth an eye-popping view of what the Earth might look like under the rising and falling water levels of climate change. Photographs juxtapose the present-day with that same area's projected future. The shocking images will help them understand the urgency for action. Key issues in today's news will be better understood, such as the 2015 Paris Protocol in which the world agreed to limit temperature increases to 2 degrees Celsius (ideally 1.5 degree).

This book discusses the science behind tsunamis. The chapters describe destructive tsunamis and their aftermath, explain why tsunamis occur, and explore scientists' efforts to predict these disasters. Diagrams, charts, and photos provide opportunities to evaluate and understand the scientific concepts involved.

Through riveting narrative and eyewitness stories, young readers learn what it's really like to be caught in a monster tornado. Captivating first-person accounts and news reports detail survivors' experiences of the most destructive tornadoes ever to occur in the United States. And thrill-seekers' reports add to the drama and suspense. Historical perspectives on the human experience of tornadoes and scientific perspectives on why twisters happen and how to keep people safe add to the intrigue of this fascinating topic. Ample back matter will help students find sources to write well-informed and compelling reports.

The study of living matter is an important part of biology. Being able to recognize living matter and differentiate it from nonliving matter is a key component of the science curriculum. This volume is a straightforward, comprehensive guide to the study of living matter: what it is composed of, how it reproduces, how it reacts to the environment around it, and how it evolves. Readers will enjoy the bright photographs and engaging information while learning an important part of the study of biology.

From the emergence of life, to Leewenhoeks microscopic world, to GMO crops, The Biology Book presents 250 landmarks in the most widely studied scientific field. Brief, engaging, and colorfully illustrated synopses introduce readers to every major subdiscipline, including cell theory, genetics, evolution, physiology, thermodynamics, molecular biology, and ecology. With information on such varied topics as paleontology, pheromones, nature vs. nurture, DNA fingerprinting, bioenergetics, and so much more, this lively collection will engage everyone who studies and appreciates the life sciences.

Reveal the inner workings of the human body with this illustrated atlas. How well do you know your body? What happens under your skin? Where exactly is your stomach? What does your liver do? How can ears help your balance? The Body Atlas answers all these questions and many more. This unique visual guide approaches a body as if it were a map, divided into "continents" (such as parts of the body) and "countries" (such as organs). You can see inside your body and examine it region by region - for example, the head and neck or the upper torso. These regions enclose vital structures, such as the brain, lungs, and heart, just as continents contain countries. Body systems such as the circulatory system (blood) and nervous system, link the body regions just like mountains and rivers range across countries. The detailed illustrations carefully pull back the layers of the body so you can see inside the hidden interior. All bones, muscles, and organs are clearly labelled with scientific and common names; and there are photos of parts you wouldn't normally be able to see, such as your vocal cords. Packed with amazing facts and illustrations, The Body Atlas takes you on a top-to-toe tour through your own anatomy. Now celebrating its 25th anniversary, this book has been refreshed for a new generation of budding biologists and doctors-in-the-making.

The epic story of our evolution in seven big steps! How did we become who we are? With trademark wit, acclaimed science writer Pamela S. Turner breaks down human evolution into the seven most important steps leading to Homo sapiens. How, when, and why did we- 1.stand up, 2.smash rocks, 3.get swelled heads, 4.take a hike, 5.invent barbecue, 6.start talking (and never shut up), and 7.become storytellers? This fascinating, wickedly funny account of our evolutionary journey turns science into an irresistible story. Vetted by experts at the Smithsonian's Human Origins Program, the book also features incredibly detailed portraits by celebrated paleo-artist John Gurche that bring our early ancestors to life.