Research: HS Research: All Subjects

Databases for All Subjects

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site. Click the link or log in via Clever.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams® is a leading reference resource for reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
The Day This link opens in a new window
The Day is a rich and engaging online educational resource that turns news into lessons across five differentiated reading levels.
Gale in Context - Middle School This link opens in a new window
Content is written explicitly for middle school students on a variety of topics, including government, U.S. and world history, geography, literature, science, and social issues.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources from around the world covering a wide array of topics and issues.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is an American newspaper with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 127 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
Connect to the ISB internal server. Click the link and then find our school. Create your account. Now you can access the NYT from anywhere but a VPN may be required. A subscription lasts one year and then you will need to renew it.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles that review key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts. Available subjects: Psychology; Philosophy; Literature; Economics & Finance; History; Linguistics and Physical Sciences Make sure to select one of these fields first before performing a search. Off-campus access: open link after turning on the Cisco app.
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
The perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Discover a new topic or subject with these intelligent and serious introductions written by authors who are experts in their field. Off-campus access: open link after turning on the Cisco app.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader is a resource that provides schools with access to the largest current digital collection of current newspapers and magazines from trusted publishers from over 120 countries in 60 different languages, making it a truly international resource. PressReader includes unlimited access to titles such as The Washington Post, The Guardian, The Independent, First News, The Week, The Globe and Mail, El Pais , and Le Figaro, to Newsweek, Vogue, Bloomberg Businessweek, and many more. To create an account: Select "Library or Group". Find our School. Register with your school email
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to nearly 5,000 titles that offer global coverage on a wide range of subjects: arts, business, current events, education, health, language arts, sciences, social sciences, and more. It features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This link provides access to four ProQuest databases: Publicly Available Content Database‎, Research Library Prep‎, SIRS Issues Researcher‎, and the Coronavirus Research Database‎.
ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.
World Book This link opens in a new window
One of the best encyclopedias there is. Offers breaking news stories, and background in formation on a large number of topics.